What’s in my sick kit?


For general cold and flu season, run-of-the-mill sick.  I like this stuff a lot.  If you don’t know why or when to take this stuff, or if it will agree with you, talk to your doctor.

  • Bluebonnet brand milk-free acidophilus with FOS.  I usually order it from Whole Foods or Willner Chemist.  It needs to be refrigerated, even if it is not opened.
  • Carlson’s Cod Liver Oil (Lemon Flavor).
  • Gypsy Cold Care tea from Traditional Medicinals.
  • Raw, local honey.
  • Honey Gardens brand Apitherapy Honey Wild Cherry Bark Syrup.   Tastes great and it really soothes a cough naturally.
  • Some sort of electrolyte solution.  I like Smart Water, or clear, unflavored Pedialyte (which kind of tastes nasty), but I think your best bet to have around is probably Oral Rehydration Salts or something similar.
  • Vitamin C – I like this because it is a whole food and not an isolated nutrient.
  • A warm mist humidifier, using distilled water, so you don’t have to clean it that much.  I use several humidifiers in the winter, therefore, I go through a lot of distilled water, so I bought a distiller that I consider a 7 out of 10 in terms of meeting my needs.
  • Eat more dark green leafy vegetables.  Steamed kale is a great example.  Souen has great kale in their steamed vegetables.
  • Once, a doctor told me that if you have diarrhea or vomiting, these are the only foods you should eat until you are vomit and diarrhea free for 24 hours.  It’s called theBRAT diet: bananas, rice, apples and toast.
7 Responses to What’s in my sick kit?

  1. Claire says:

    Hi…i like the items in the “sick kit”…i’m also a big believer in cod liver oil and Vit C…i also think that supplementing with Vit D is a good idea, especially in the winter…here are a few interesting health-related websites that might be of interest…

    http://www.westonaprice.org
    http://www.greenpasture.org/community/
    http://www.drrons.com/
    http://www.radiantlifecatalog.com/
    http://www.azurestandard.com/
    http://www.building-health.com/

    looks like you’ll have to cut and paste… 🙂

  2. syntk says:

    Thanks! I will check those out.

  3. syntk says:

    Wow! I checked out all of those sites, and what an amazing collection of info. I’ve heard of the Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil product, but never followed up to find out more. There’s so much here! Thanks again!

  4. […] effect if I get it started early enough in the season.  Speaking of cold and flu season, see what is in my sick kit and more cold and flu […]

  5. […] about a gallon a day, but oh, it is worth it!  I purchased my own distiller (read through “What’s in my sick kit,” for more […]

  6. […] your sick kit together.  Here are my recommendations from last […]

  7. […] What’s in my sick kit? Share this:ShareFacebookTwitterEmailStumbleUponDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

