What the hell is dulse?


Dulse is a sea vegetable that is (I won’t lie to you) mildly yucky, super good for you, and one that I am going to pressure you to eat.  I have tricked myself into liking it by using a happy, enthusiastic inner voice and marketing it to myself as “BACON OF THE SEA!”  The truth is that it is nothing like bacon, my favorite meat, reserved only for special occasions.  I could write poems and sing songs about bacon.  I should take some to an Olin Mills photo studio and get some portraits done, I love it so much.  I would wear it, but it would not last long in my presence.

Ok, enough about bacon (food of the gods).  Dulse.  Dulse is so good for you, that it’s totally worth trying to hide it in other foods, and/or playing strange mind games with yourself to encourage consumption.  It’s hard to find a food with so much wonderful mineral content in it.  Check out these stats (7 g = about 1/3 of a cup).  Eat ANY of these sea vegetables, and you’ll be doing great things for your body.  I’d recommend kelp, but man, that’s really yucky, as opposed to mildly yucky like dulse (although I do like kelp in some Japanese soups).

The dulse I like best is Maine Coast Sea Vegetables brand “Smoked with Applewood” dulse.  I have gotten to the point where I can eat a serving just as is, if I really need to.  However, if you’re really not into sea vegetables, you can get the flakes to sprinkle on a salad or in soup (after heating).  Seriously, it’s really worth talking yourself into eating this stuff.

Note: if you’re eating sea vegetables like dulse on a regular basis, use natural salt (like Celtic Sea salt) in your kitchen, as opposed to the processed, gross, iodized salt.  Dulse has a ton of iodine in it.  You probably won’t need any more, but talk to your doctor about it, if you are unsure of what kind of iodine requirements you need (iodine is important for your thyroid – your doctor should know about it).

8 Responses to What the hell is dulse?

  1. elizabeth says:

    have you tried any of the dulse recipes on their site? and DO go to olin mills and get a bacon portrait, that would be precious!

  2. syntk says:

    No, I haven’t tried any of those recipes. I just eat it straight up and get it over with, all the while, imagining it is BACON (oh, sweet bacon!). I will give you a wallet size of the bacon portrait. I am glad to see you are finally commenting after fielding a bunch of your questions by email. Thank you, sweet Elizabeth! L’chaim!

  3. elizabeth says:

    I just got the ‘smoked with applewood’ dulse you recommended and I think it’s DELICIOUS! Seriously! I’m taking my dulse to Olin Mills! I think it tastes like how lapsang souchong smells…does that make sense? Question–is mercury an issue with sea vegetables? I hope our word tonight from the audience is dulse…

  4. syntk says:

    I don’t think mercury is an issue for seaweed, but I am not positive of that. I am thinking that it is not for this reason: I thought that a bioaccumulative toxin like mercury would be stored in fat (seaweed has no fat), which may be why it’s more of a problem in the fattier fish, and in fish that eat other fish. Again, you should fact check me.

    Also, the brand of seaweed I usually buy (Maine Coast Sea Vegetables) tests for heavy metals (mercury is a heavy metal) and other pollutants. See the packaging for more info.

  5. elizabeth says:

    I’m sure it’s fine but I’ll try to fact check…AND, in an MOST EXCITING turn of events today, I bought laver! Between that and the dulse my Olin Mills gallery is going to be just stunning!

  6. syntk says:

    Laver… whoa. Whoaaaaaaaa.

  7. karen says:

    I grew up eating dulse and it is my favorite food in the whole world. I LOVE it! I suspect it’s an acquired taste for anyone not raised on it, but my mouth waters at the mere thought of it.

    • syntk says:

      That’s AWESOME! If you grew up eating it, I bet you had a really healthy diet overall. Do you attribute your current health to dulse and other stuff you ate as a kid?

Leave a Reply

