Chicken Fingers?


Dearest friends and family who have been requesting my chicken finger recipe, I apologize for taking so long.  Here it is, and I told you it was simple.

  1. Boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut up into strips (they should be between 1/4 and a 1/2 inch thick).
  2. Mayonnaise
  3. Coating (explained in detail, below)

Pre heat the oven to 350.  Dry the chicken strips with paper towels.  Put the mayo in your (clean) hands and rub it all over the chicken strips (very thin coating, don’t put globs of it on).  Then, press the strips in the coating.  Put it on a baking sheet (no oil, no nothing) and bake at around 350 for  around 10-15 minutes per side (20-30 min total).  They’ll definitely be fully cooked by 20 minutes, but I like to add on time for the coating to get brown.

I like these chicken fingers because they’re delicious, and easy and fast to make.  You can make them a day or two in advance and store them in a covered glass container until you’re ready to bake them.  You can also bake them and refrigerate them immediately and eat them cold (sliced on a salad is nice).  If you want decadence, you can saute them in some butter. However, I like them just plain baked.

And, because I love you guys so much, I photographed the whole process and added some variations!

Coating variations

These are the coatings I used for my chicken fingers

From left to right: Whole Wheat Panko breadcrumbs, raw hemp seed, Coconut Macadamia Nut Crusters, flax and seed mix, Red Hot Blues Corn Chips.  I just wanted to try a few variations. From the Red Hot Blues Corn Chips, I used the crumbs at the bottom of the bag.  Never throw away corn chip, potato chip or pretzel crumbs. They are wonderful things to coat chicken and fish nuggets in!

Chicken ready to be coated

Chicken ready to be coated

There is the chicken cut up into strips and the coatings (L to R: nut crusters and whole wheat bread crumbs mixed in equal parts, flax mixture, hemp seeds, corn chip crumbs).  Notice how little mayo this is for such a huge amount of chicken fingers.

The chicken strips are coated.

The chicken strips are coated. I then pressed the strips into the coating.

The chicken fingers in the baking pan

The chicken fingers in the baking pan.

I baked them for 10 minutes on one side, flipped them, then 10 minutes on the other side.

They're baked!

They're baked!

The macadamia coconut ones are my favorite, and they’re the ones I always make for parties.  I wasn’t able to try the corn chip coated ones because I’m allergic to some of the ingredients, but my very picky son loved them (although they needed salt).  The hemp ones are good, but they needed salt, too.  The hemp crusted ones are a great low carb option. The flax seed ones were not so good.  That stuff is great for breakfast cereals and sprinkling in yogurt, but was never meant to be a chicken coating, and well, shouldn’t be.

Another variation you can do is instead of coating the strips with mayonnaise, you can coat them with pesto.  I think this method would add more flavor to the hemp crusted ones.

4 Responses to Chicken Fingers?

  1. Kelly says:

    I love the addition of the photos

  2. Joe says:

    Making the hemp and corn chip ones this weekend; will report back

  3. […] skinless chicken breast – $2.99 per pound.  Here’s how to make your own chicken fingers, if you are […]

  4. […] chicken breast is on sale, so I buy it and make something with it. In the past, my usual dish was chicken fingers, but now that I no longer eat grains and have adopted a paleo / specific carbohydrate diet, I […]

Leave a Reply

