Urban Composting (NYC)?


My dear team-mate and Souen buddy Elizabeth asks: Do you compost? Do you have any practical tips for urban composting?

I believe in outsourcing, so I take my compostables to the Lower East Side Ecology Center’s stand at the Union Square Farmer’s Market.  Here is where they tell you their schedule and rules.  They are wonderful.  I buy actual compost from them, which my avocado trees love.  Sooner or later, I’ll write a post on growing your own avocado trees (if it’s not up in a week, remind me).  My biggest one, Xavier, is well over 6 feet tall at two and a half years of age, and I grew him from seed.  Thanks to a lot of love, trial and error and that wonderful, rich, LESEC compost!!!

Oh, and you can keep your compost in your kitchen in quart yogurt containers (save the #5 ones, though for Whole Foods special recycling of them) or any kind of containers you would normally throw away or recycle.  I’ve seen people bring half-gallon cartons (from OJ or milk) with compost in it, produce bags, coffee cans, etc.

2 Responses to Urban Composting (NYC)?

  1. elizabeth says:

    Awesome, thank you! I just started one that will be dropped off tomorrow:)

  2. […] your plant has nicely established roots, you can plant it in dirt.  I usually use a mix of 1/2 compost from the Union Square Farmers Market and 1/2 Coast of Maine potting soil.  I have made the mistake many times of planting in too big of […]

Leave a Reply

