Know any good cereal that isn’t insanely processed?


Yes.  Ezekiel 4:9 the (Biblical) sprouted whole grain cereal has great ingredients (though it has soybeans, which I am not crazy about).  I also enjoy Perky’s Crunchy Flax, which is also nut-free and gluten free and delicious.  Also, Nature’s Path Heritage Os are ok.  It’s very important to me to have at least a few grain-free breakfasts a week, and on those days, I have either a power breakfast, sprouts (especially sunflower sprouts from the Union Square Farmers Market (which are my favorite), or Rawnola (which is in an entirely different class than cereals, though I think it’s substitutable).

For your comfort and ease, I’ve put together the following spreadsheet outlining the nutritional aspects of each:

Cereal Comparison

3 Responses to Know any good cereal that isn’t insanely processed?

  1. Joe says:

    Thanks so much for writing all this. The cereal comparison chart is incredibly helpful. I particularly love that you listed “bizarre biblical angle” as one of the pros of buying Ezekiel. That stated, I purchased Cinnamon Raisin Ezekiel and have risen to a new plateau of happiness.

    • syntk says:

      Do you like it? Also, Ezekiel was just on sale at Whole Foods, ending yesterday. It’s normally $5.99 and is $4.99 on sale. It is frequently on sale, so if you like it, just hold out and stock up when you find it at a good price. Also, take note of the serving size. It’s a heavy cereal so the serving size weighs as much, but is much smaller than regular (or puffy) cereal. I eat mine out of a custard cup so I’m not having too much. Not like you need to watch your figure or anything. I’m just saying.

      • Joe says:

        Yeah I love it, I also have their Cinnamon Raisin bread which I consume in mass quantity.

        I feel like a documentary about Ezekiel products is in order. I heard there’s one about Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap but I have yet to see it. I’m sure it’s good; the stuff scrawled on those products, which I do love, reads like the ramblings of a mad man.

Leave a Reply

