Why shouldn’t I buy bulk Legos on eBay?


You should not buy bulk Legos on eBay because they will most likely be filthy.

Broken and filthy baseplate

Broken and filthy baseplate

Some of them might also be broken.  You may receive many different sets in a bulk pack, but none of them will be complete.

You may ask how I know all this.  It is because my husband bought our son 50 lbs of Legos on eBay.  I hand-washed about 40 of those 50 lbs and got a legal, binding agreement from him to never, ever buy anything used on eBay again.

And, no, you cannot put Legos in the washing machine or dishwasher to clean them.   Most of the pieces are too small and might get stuck and/or break your machine, and there are far too many crevices on a Lego for a machine like that to be effective.

You have been warned.  You’re welcome.

3 Responses to Why shouldn’t I buy bulk Legos on eBay?

  1. Joe says:

    This is one of my favorite posts to date

  2. Alisha says:

    You can wash Legos in the dishwasher if you put them in a mesh laundry bag first. I have four little boys and a metric crap ton of Legos. Trust me.

  3. syntk says:

    I stand corrected! Mesh bag! Great idea, Queen Alisha! I think the mesh bag would work well for your average lego, but the stuff I got from ebay…. holy cow! I really needed to hand-scrub a lot of it. Some of the baseplates must have been sitting out in a very dusty, multiple-pet household for a few years.

Leave a Reply

