When should I start taking vitamin D?


Now.  If you need vitamin D (and I think most people do, but it’s wise to check with your doctor via a 25(OH)D, also called 25-hydroxyvitamin D test), the time to start taking it is now.  I have taken Jarrow Formulas Vitamin D3 in the past and have been happy with it, but I prefer to get my vitamin D from cod liver oil because I think it’s got all of the co-factors for bioavailability and it has a lot of DHA and EPA.  Plus, vitamin D should be taken with fat, and there’s a good amount (and the right kind) of fat in cod liver oil.

I personally like Carlson brand Norwegian Cod Liver Oil in lemon flavor, and it is on sale at Whole Foods through tomorrow (9/27/10).  I just bought a 16.9 fl oz bottle today for $35.19, versus the regular price of $40.99.  The Vitamin Shoppe has a web-only special right now for $23.07)

A 1 teaspoon serving has 400 IU of Vitamin D3, 500 mg of DHA, 400 mg of EPA and 40 mg of ALA.  I try to take a tablespoon a day during cold and flu season and I feel it has a very significant cold and flu fighting effect if I get it started early enough in the season.  Speaking of cold and flu season, see what is in my sick kit and more cold and flu items.

3 Responses to When should I start taking vitamin D?

  1. joe bonacci says:

    Awesome post, I like your other one about your sick kit as well. What’s the difference between vitamin D3 and vitamin D; and would you recommend it over fish oil? I’m gonna pick some of this up at whole foods this week.

  2. syntk says:

    D3 is natural, D2 is synthetic. If you need vitamin D, I would recommend cod liver oil over fish oil because fish oil doesn’t have any vitamin D. But both fish oil and cod liver oil usually have good amounts of EPA and DHA, and those are important. Unless you pick it up tomorrow (Tues) @ WF, you’ll be paying too much. WIllner chemist usually has some good prices on it, and the Vitamin Shoppe typically does, too. Just check the “best used by” date on the back. Mine says 5/2014. If it says 2011 or 2012, I probably wouldn’t get it because I think freshness is super important. Even though the bottles are nitrogen flushed to halt oxidation, I think recency is very important.

  3. […] If you have low vitamin D levels, your doctor should be telling you to supplement.  It will definitely help you avoid or lessen the […]

Leave a Reply

