Raw vegan food in Palm Beach, FL?


UPDATE:   Sadly, this place is closed. RIP Raw Kitchen.

My family and I spent the 2010 holidays in Palm Beach, Florida.  We tried a new restaurant called The Raw Kitchen in West Palm Beach.  We went there twice during our stay in the area and I highly recommend it.  It’s a small, casual place close to the city center and their food is fresh and delicious, the service is friendly and they were helpful in suggesting dishes that do not have nightshades (tomatoes, peppers and eggplant), which are fairly well-represented on the menu.

I had The Perfect Marriage ($13) a large salad of sunflower shoots, sprouts and other greens as well as the Nori Wrap ($14) which was a roll of coconut, teff, sesame seeds and veggies in nori with a sesame ginger sauce.  The nori was very chewy, so biting into it made everything kind of come out the other side, but it was tasty, though I preferred the salad.  My father-in-law, who is not someone who would seek out raw (or healthy) food shared the Pad Thai ($19) with my husband and they both really enjoyed it.  The noodles are thinly sliced zucchini coupled with julienned vegetables (and I think some coconut meat, too) in a “savory-sweet almond sauce with a touch of Serrano pepper.”  I also had the Chocolate Coconut Parfait ($11 – also has nuts, dried coconut, goji berries and vanilla “cream”) and it was very good.  It was the kind of dessert where you ask yourself if maybe it’s unhealthy (it’s not) because it’s so rich and decadent.  I wish it was a little more minimalist, though.  The goji berries confused the taste and the nuts and dried coconut confused the texture (which is otherwise PERFECT).  I wish it was just the chocolate pudding/mousse with a big layer of coconut/vanilla “cream” on top.

The second time I went to the restaurant, I had the “Pasta Primavera” ($16), which was incredibly delicious and satisfying.  Again, the “pasta” was thin, spiral-sliced zucchini with olive oil and garlic (not too much, just the right amount), vegetables (mostly broccoli) and basil.  I asked for it to be made without nightshades, which they tried to do, but there were some pepper seeds and a bit of pepper flake in it.  There was so little of that, that I believe it was just picked up from a cutting board or something.  I was able to pick it out, amidst all the green.  On both of my visits, Christine was my waitress (and she was very nice) and I had The Aerator ($8), which is their green juice blend.  I saw a person at the bar who was eating the spinach pizza ($16 -sprouted buckwheat crust, house made nut cheese, fresh garlic, spinach and sliced mushrooms) and it looked delicious.  I made a mental note to try that and the house-made almond milk on my next visit.

The Raw Kitchen, Lunch Mon – Sun 11:30 – 4 p.m.  Wed – Sat dinner 5:00 – 10 p.m.
509 Clematis Street, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
561-820-0144
therawkitchen@therawkitchen.com

Leave a Reply

