What the hell was in that sushi you gave me?


Walnuts.  Yeah.  I can’t believe it either!  I soaked (2 hrs.) and drained some raw walnuts, put them in a food processor with shallots, carrots, parsley, my home made curry powder and a little sea salt (black truffle salt is even better!) and then rolled it up in nori with some matchstick-cut jicama.  Ridick delish, right?

Walnut sushi

Walnut sushi

Note: this combination was my own take on raw “sushi” rolls that I got from The Juice Press, which is a wonderful raw food and juice takeaway in the East Village.  I had to make them for myself because they put peppers in their version and I am allergic to peppers.  If you’re not used to making raw food at home, I’m just warning you, it can be a real pain in the ass, what with the nut soaking and food processing and all.  So, if you’re interested in this kind of food and not into the work it takes, stop by The Juice Press and just pick some up.  While you are there, try the chia pudding, raw pies and raw cakes.  You won’t be sorry.  Believe me.

3 Responses to What the hell was in that sushi you gave me?

  1. Pamela Moineau says:

    I think you need a taste tester who can leave reviews of these recipes.

  2. Pamela Moineau says:

    I would like to thank you for taking me up on the hint for samples with the fresh batch of sushi rolls today. Needless to say, they are (were) delicious! I now wish they sold them for purchase. Hey now that’s an idea. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

