How do you make egg salad?


I just made one, and it is spectacular.  I usually make it for one, since I like it very fresh and no one else in my family likes it.  This is exactly one serving.

  • 1 hard boiled egg (I start in room-temp water and time 12 minutes after boiling starts.  Keep at low boil and cool immediately afterward.)
  • 1/2 or so stalk of celery, chopped fine
  • 1/2 handful Italian, flat leaf parsley, chopped fine (chiffonade)
  • 1/2 handful fresh watercress, chopped fine (chiffonade)
  • 1 Tbs mayonnaise (I use Spectrum Organic in the glass jar – I hate mayo in plastic.)
  • Few grinds of black pepper
  • Pinch of black truffle salt from The Filling Station
  • 1/2 tsp Coleman’s dry mustard – they have it at Whole Foods – this is the key to the awesomeness, methinks!

Stir it all together and eat!  I know typical egg salad usually has onions/shallots/scallions/chives in it.  Sometimes I put them in, sometimes I don’t.  I made it this way (sans onions) and it still came out ok.

Leave a Reply

