Why don’t you give to the New York Public Library, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and Greenpeace anymore?


Those are three charities that I very much believe in and want to support (and have supported in the past).  However, all three (and countless others) have distracted me from their good intentions and wonderful work with incessant, over-the-top mailings.  Years ago, I didn’t mind an occasional (once a year) reminder of their good work and the need for more support.  However, the frequency and extravagance has increased to such a degree, that I can no longer support them.  Lately, Sloan Kettering has gone far over the top with an 11×17 sheet of adhesive stickers (!), multiple note pads (!!), a nickel (!!!) and more in a single package.  This is my response to them:

Please remove me from your mailing list.  I believe in the good work you do and I know your intentions are good, but these mailers continue to get more elaborate, wasteful and expensive and that is something I can no longer support.

When charities that I believe in (like yours) enact a committed and 100% effective way to opt-out of all of your mail (including useless gifts) AND you scale back your mailings to be less wasteful (and opt-in only), then I will be very happy to contribute to your very worthwhile cause.

One Response to Why don’t you give to the New York Public Library, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and Greenpeace anymore?

  1. Joe says:

    I love your use of exclamation points in your letter ha. I think it’s great you wrote that to them. It’s unfortunate they’re being so wasteful.

Leave a Reply

