Can you buy truly raw almonds in the U.S.?


In 2007, a law mandating pasteurization for all U.S. almonds was passed.  Some of these pasteurized almonds can be sold as “raw,” which is deceptive and wrong in my opinion, but legal nonetheless.  A consumer can apparently get around this rule by either buying truly raw almonds from abroad, or buying truly raw almonds in bulk from a U.S. almond farm.  I buy mine from Briden Wilson Farm.  I have purchased several 10lb boxes of raw, organically grown almonds from them, and I have no complaints.

 

4 Responses to Can you buy truly raw almonds in the U.S.?

  1. joe says:

    Whaaaa, I had no idea all almonds are supposed to be pasteurized; even raw ones. That’s insane. Do you know if that applies to all nuts, or just almonds? Thanks for linking to Biden Wilson Farm.

    • syntk says:

      Yes, it’s insane. It’s even more insane that one of the approved methods of pasteurization is propylene oxide, which is a “probable carcinogen.” I was just in Integral Yoga yesterday (have I mentioned how much I love that store?) and someone was asking about truly raw almonds and thought they were only available from Italy. I thought a blog post was in order.

  2. I heard about this a while ago, such an extreme measure for one case of salmonella, great we can buy unpasteurized ones from the farms, but more consumers should be made aware of this.

  3. syntk says:

    Thanks for reading. I checked out your blog. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

