Brain supplements?


Don’t solely rely on anything I write about supplements for your brain or for anything else.  I am just some random blogger that you should not trust implicitly.  Use blogs, news articles, social media, etc. to get ideas.  Then, talk to real experts and do your own research on those ideas!  Think critically, look behind the claim, try your best to find evidence against the claim, read peer-reviewed journals.  Medical doctors are usually a great source of information as well.*

I met a true expert in brain supplements this afternoon at my favorite natural food and supplement store, Integral Yoga.  His name is Dr. Parris Kidd, and in talking with him at length today, seems to really know what he’s talking about.  Granted, I’m just an aforementioned random blogger, but check out his stuff for yourself.

Dr. Parris Kidd

Dr. Parris Kidd

I didn’t realize it when I was talking to him, but I already knew of him!  A very good friend of mine read Dr. Kidd’s book PS (PhosphatidylSerine) Nature’s Brain Booster A Vital Lipid Nutrient For Memory Mood And Stress and had wonderful success using PS with her daughter who was diagnosed with ADD.  If you have concerns about your own brain health and/or memory, or you have loved ones who suffer from ADD, ADHD, Alzheimer’s or dementia, you should check out what Dr. Kidd has to say.  I think he is working on formulations with Doctor’s Best supplements, and I will definitely be researching their Curcumin, Polyphenols, Natural Brain Enhancers, Best DHA and Magnesium.

Just a note: My own doctor (who is an MD, and is also highly knowledgeable about and respected in the field of complementary and alternative medicine) has recommended Doctor’s Best supplements to me in the past (he doesn’t sell them, nor is he affiliated with the company in any way), so his endorsement also bodes well for the brand, I think.

*  If you are genuinely concerned about your health and will work hard to make it better, and are not just satisfied to take some prescription medication, then you should have a doctor that has ideas about complimentary medicine, supplements, nutrition, exercise, stress management and all of the many natural pillars of health, in addition to current and confirmed knowledge of western medicine as well.  If your doctor skirts the issue, doesn’t take your concerns seriously, suggests little more than prescriptions and OTC medications, find a new doctor.  Prescriptions and western medicine are beneficial and at times, miraculous, but there is a wide, wide world of alternatives.

3 Responses to Brain supplements?

  1. tonymariani says:

    This is an interesting subject for me. Back in 1982, Sandy Shaw and Durk Pearson cowrote a book on life extention. Loved the book and I can say it set me on the road to taking nutrional supplements to my diet. Have they helped? I think so.

    http://www.amazon.com/Life-Extension-Practical-Scientific-Approach/dp/0446512729

  2. syntk says:

    Wow, Tony… Pearson & Shaw’s book looks really interesting. I read up about them more and found a great interview with them here: http://www.life-enhancement.com/magazine/article/949-maintain-your-brain-part-i—may-2004 Great stuff! Thanks for mentioning it!

  3. tonymariani says:

    Excellent article. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

