Alert: Pesto Sale at Whole Foods!


I used to make my own pesto until I tasted Seggiano Raw Basil Pesto.  It’s absolutely the best pesto I’ve ever tasted, and it’s dairy-free.  Note: I didn’t say it was the best non-dairy pesto I’ve ever tasted.  I said it was the best pesto, and it happens to be dairy-free.  It’s expensive at $11.99 for 7 oz, but it’s on sale at Whole Foods for $8.99 until 12/25/12 (at least in NYC).  I would suggest you pick some up now if you are so inclined.  This price can’t be beat.

Seggiano Raw Basil Pesto

Seggiano Raw Basil Pesto

Seggiano Raw Basil Pesto

Seggiano Raw Basil Pesto

 

In 2010 (check my blog), it was on sale for $9.99 a jar, but you could get the 10% case discount on top of that if you bought enough.  It’s my understanding that they did away with the case discount for sale items, but with the $8.99, it works out the same and you don’t have to buy a case to maximize your savings (although I’ve bought a case and a half so far).  Also, the expiration date on the jars I just bought is in 2014, and I’ve been buying this for years and it’s never tasted stale, even after being in the cabinet for a year.  It doesn’t need to be refrigerated until you open it, and it lasts in the refrigerator for weeks.  Lastly, it is in a glass jar and it specifically says it is unpasteurized.  Hooray!  I admit to being confounded by its perfection.

One Response to Alert: Pesto Sale at Whole Foods!

  1. s says:

    I love it too! The best pesto ever!
    Bj S

Leave a Reply

