Power Bars?


The gluten-free, nut-free, vegan, refined sugar-free  powerbars I made for the Haitian Earthquake Relief Bakesale were a big hit today, and I got many requests for the recipe.  It takes about 5 minutes (plus 20 minutes of cooling time) to make these.  I simplified the recipe that was originally on the Perky’s Nutty Flax cereal box (prior to it being renamed Perky’s Crunchy Flax).

To make about 30 1.5″ x 2″ x 1″ cubes:

1 Jar Creamy Sunbutter

1/2 Jar Lundberg Rice Syrup

2 boxes Perky’s Crunchy Flax

Put the sunbutter and the rice syrup in a large (preferably glass) pot over medium heat until it’s nearly bubbling.  Stir a lot so it doesn’t burn on the bottom.  Remove from heat, mix in cereal until it’s evenly coated.  Press mixture into greased (I use olive oil very, very sparingly) square or rectangular baking pan (big enough to accommodate as many bars as are mentioned above – I use two) and let cool.  Cut into squares.

Warning for blood sugar sensitive people: though these are awesome, they are a carb overload for me.  I only eat them immediately before some intense activity (like running or working out).  When I give it to my son, it’s right before he takes off in the playground.  That way, some of the sugars can be burned off quickly before there’s too much of a blood sugar load.  Fact-check the science behind this yourself, in case I am making stuff up, but it seems to work.

3 Responses to Power Bars?

  1. syntk says:

    On her completely awesome and mindblowing blog CAKE POWER, Kate posted pictures and the tale of the aforementioned bake sale.

    http://cakepower.blogspot.com/2010/03/our-school-bake-sale-for-haiti-1-of-4.html

    You’ve got to check out her Lord of the Rings cake! Intense!

  2. syntk says:

    Oh, BTW – Perky’s is on sale at Whole Foods right now – 2 for $6. The regular price is 3.99 ea. I think the sale goes until Tuesday 4/13/2010.

  3. […] gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free, refined sugar-free energy bars (see recipe here) – just be sure to provide teachers with complete ingredient list, so they don’t have […]

Leave a comment